The Seekers


Click to read reviews on Amazon

The Seekers is a 1979 made-for-television drama film/mini-series. It is based on the historical novel, The Seekers, written by John Jakes, originally published in 1975. It is third in a series known as The Kent Family Chronicles or the American Bicentennial Series. The story mixes fictional characters with historical events and figures, as it narrates the story of the United States of America from 1794 through 1814. In 1979, the novel was made into a television film by Operation Prime Time and premiered on HBO on July 8, 1979.

The Seekers was preceded by the The Bastard, first in the series, and The Rebels, second in the series.


The sons and grandchildren of Philip Kent make a life for themselves in America.


* Randolph Mantooth — Abraham Kent
* Delta Burke — Elizabeth Fletcher Kent
* Martin Milner — Philip Kent

* Edie Adams — Flora Cato
* Neville Brand — Capt. Isaac Drew
* John Carradine — Avery Mills
* George DelHoyo — Gilbert Kent (as George Deloy)
* Julie Gregg — Edna Clapper
* Roosevelt Grier — Amos Samuels
* George Hamilton — Lt. Hamilton Stovall
* Alex Hyde-White — Oliver Prouty
* Harriet Karr — Harriet Kent
* Brian Keith — Elijah Weatherby
* Don Mantooth — Plenty Coup
* Ross Martin — Supply Pleasant
* Gary Merrill — Capt. Hul
* Vic Morrow — Leland Pell
* Timothy Patrick Murphy — Jarod Kent
* Hugh O’Brian — Andrew Piggot
* Robert Reed —Daniel Clapper
* Allan Rich — Gen. Wayne
* Barbara Rush — Peggy Kent
* Sarah Rush — Amanda Kent
* Stuart Whitman — Rev. Blackthorn